Genes, Brain & Behavior Meeting 2018  

Mayo Civic Center, Rochester, MN USA


The 20th Annual Genes, Brain & Behavior Meeting will be held in Rochester, MN, May 17-21, 2018. The meeting will be held at the Mayo Civic Center, including exciting scientific lectures, research presentations, workshops, and opportunities to share your work with your fellow scientists and mentors. More information will be posted regularly in the coming weeks. Discounted lodging room rates will be available at hotel(s) near the meeting site. For the discounted rates, please check back here for more information at a later date. Travel awards are available.

 Download the meeting flyer here

register button  abstract button   travel award button


Conference Dates:  May 17-21, 2018

Preliminary Schedule  

May 17 - Breakout workshop sponsored by Mayo Clinic Center for Individualized Medicine
               Organizers: Dr. Lisa Schimmenti and Dr. Eric Klee 

             - Evening Reception
May 18 - main meeting (full day) Evening Poster Session
May 19 - main meeting (full day) Evening Poster Session
May 20 - main meeting (full day) 
May 21 - main meeting (full day) Evening Banquet: Four Daughters Vineyard and Winery
May 22 - Departures

Important Dates
December 2017 - Symposium proposals due/closed
January 2018 - Registration/abstract submission open
February 16, 2018 -Travel award applicants: both applications and paid meeting registration due
March 16, 2018 - Abstract submissions due
March 16, 2018 - Early registration closed
April 30, 2018 - Late breaking abstracts due
April 30, 2018 - Late registration rates apply
April 30, 2018 - Last day for registration refunds
May 2018 - Conference dates May 17-21


Program Highlights



Presidential plenary speaker: Dr. Mark P. Mattson, National Institutes of Health, Baltimore, MD. USA Research page

Rainer Spanagel


Distinguished Investigator Award Speaker: Dr. Rainer Spanagel, University of Heidelberg, HDB. DE Neurochemical mechanisms of addicted behavior Research page




Young Investigator Award Speaker: Dr. Karla Kaun, Brown University, Providence, RI. USA Research page



Young Investigator Award Speaker: Dr. Catherine Kaczorowski, Jackson Laboratory, Bar Harbor, ME. USA Research page



Individualized Medicine 
 Dr. Lisa Schimmenti     Dr. Eric Klee
Lisa_Schimmenti Eric_Klee


Integrative Genomics
Dr. Elissa Chesler Dr. Robert Williams
echesler rwilliams



Meeting Sponsors

NIAAA logo


zeiss Bioline logo
Millipore Sigma Icon Bio-techne logo


For Sponsors/Exhibitors

2018 Meeting Prospectus

Exhibitor/Sponsor Registration



Travel Stipends

Travel stipends will be available for graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, and junior faculty members who have held  faculty rank for less than 5 years. Information on the travel award application process will be available on the Travel Awards webpage. 


Rochester, MN Airport and Ground Transport Information

Travel to Rochester:

map image


About Rochester

Located at 30 Civic Center Drive SE in Rochester, MN, the Mayo Civic Center lies along the Zumbro Riverbanks in the heart of downtown. Just minutes from hotels, shopping, restaurants and the renowned Mayo Clinic, the Center is easily accessible via major highways and offers a variety of convenient parking options. Money Magazine said it best, "One thing to remember about Rochester  is that it has the sophistication of a larger metro area, but not the congestion or the complications. Named "Best Small City" in America by a nationally recognized magazine, Rochester merges a cosmopolitan atmosphere with Midwestern hospitality giving convention attendees a most memorable experience.

Rochester Convention and Visitor's Bureau website:

Trip Advisors top attractions and activities in Minnesota: Minnesota attractions


Awards Committee

Yehuda Ben-Shahar (2016-2018)
Angela Ozburn (2016-2018)
Robert Williams (2016-2018)
Dai Stephens (2017-2019)
Lisa Tarantino (2017-2019)

Program Committee
Karl Clark (Chair)
Gang Chen
Judy Griesel
Iiris Hovatta
Alex Keene
Elissa Chesler
Fernando Rodriguez
Robert Williams

Local Organizing Committee
Karl Clark, Mayo Clinic 
Susannah Tye, Mayo Clinic
Doo-Sup Choi, Mayo Clinic
Stephen C. Ekker, Mayo Clinic
Stephanie Ferguson, Mayo Clinic
Marc Wolman, University of Wisconsin
Pamela McLean, Mayo Clinic- Jacksonville
Tracy Austin, Rochester Convention and Visitors Bureau